Ausoleildalbi. Pavillon Adélaïde. Burlats

Nestled in a verdant site at the foot of Mount Paradis, Burlats opens one of the gates of the Sidobre and the Regional Park of Haut Languedoc.

The prestigious listed historical monuments of Burlats evoke a past where periods marked by the refined Occitan culture and religious conflicts have deeply mutilated the village which still carries the stigmata.
Burlats has known through the ages, honors and splendor of the princely residences in the twelfth century, but also the successive ruins caused by the wars of religion in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

The history of Burlats dates back to the Middle Ages, its name appears on notarial acts as early as 974. Originally “villa”, small farm linked to a modest priory, the city, property of the Viscounts of Trencavel, Thanks to the influence of Cécile de Provence, Constance de France (wife of Raymond V count of Toulouse, daughter of King Louis VI and sister of Louis VII) and Adelaide his daughter whose name is now attached to a prestigious Romanesque It would have attracted the most celebrated poets and troubadours. Adelaide will have left its imprint on the time when the courteous and chivalrous spirit of Occitan culture developed. Later, in the 17th century, Burlats became a stronghold of the Huguenots, suffering conflicts that led to its ruin and the destruction of many of its prestigious buildings, including the collegiate church of St. Peter. Richelieu will order that the fortifications be dismantled.
The collegiate church of Saint Pierre, one of the most remarkable Romanesque religious buildings in the Tarn, probably originated in a church of the Carolingian period, but its existence was only proved in the 10th century.

ausoleildalbi.tour de la bistoure

At the beginning of the twelfth century, the church was probably a priory. This Romanesque building will be finished in 1140 …….
Facing the north gate of the Collegiate Church, is the castle, built in the XVIIth century under Louis XIII.
Tour de la Bistoure: It was one of the four or five gates of the Burlats village, fortified in the 14th century. ……..

Adélaïde Pavilion It is one of the rare witnesses of Roman civil architecture, It is a building of the middle of the 12th century, constructed in rubble stones with angle chain in stones.
The building had three levels at the origin. The first level was originally entirely blind. The second level had small openings which were to be used for the defense of the house. The third level was that of the habitat and was blind on the east and north side from which the coldest winds blow. It has five bays, four in the south and one in the west.
Its recent restoration by the Historical Monuments Department revealed the three arcades on the ground floor, highlighting a slightly open first floor. She was probably never inhabited by the Vicomtesse d’Albi. The quality of this house comes from the five large windows on the second floor that illuminated a single room.

The house of ADAM. A Romanesque building from the same period as the Adelaide Pavilion, Adam’s house had to be included with the collegiate church within the perimeter of the former priory.
The capital representing Adam and Eve, who had given his name to the house, was sold in 1935
(Thanks to the Burlats Tourist Office)

Ausoleildalbi. Pavillon Adélaïde. Burlats

Ausoleildalbi. Burlats.le Prieuré

ausoleildalbi. Burlats

chapiteau ausoleildalbi

ausoleildalbi.tour de la bistoure

ausoleildalbi. Burlats

ausoleildalbi. reste du Prieuré

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

Menu

Blotti dans un site verdoyant au pied du mont Paradis, Burlats ouvre une des portes du Sidobre et du Parc Régional du Haut Languedoc

Les prestigieux monuments historiques classés de Burlats évoquent un passé où se sont succédées des périodes très marquées par la culture occitane raffinée et des conflits religieux qui ont profondément mutilé le village qui en porte encore les stigmates.

Burlats a connu à travers les âges, les honneurs et les fastes des résidences princières au XII ème siècle, mais aussi les ruines successives causées par les guerres de religion aux XVI ème et XVII ème siècles.
L’histoire de Burlats remonte au Moyen Age, son nom apparaît sur des actes notariaux dès 974. A l’origine « villa », petite exploitation agricole liée à un modeste prieuré, la cité, propriété des vicomtes de Trencavel, a pris son essor grâce à l’influence de Cécile de Provence, Constance de France (épouse de Raymond V comte de Toulouse, fille du roi Louis VI et sœur de Louis VII) et Adélaïde sa fille dont le nom est désormais attaché à un prestigieux pavillon roman civil où elle aurait attiré les poètes et les troubadours les plus célèbres.  Adélaïde aura marqué de son empreinte son époque où s’est développé l’esprit courtois et chevaleresque de la culture occitane.  Plus tard, au XVII ème siècle, devenu place forte des Huguenots, Burlats souffrira des conflits qui conduiront à sa ruine et à la destruction d’une grande partie de ses édifices prestigieux, dont la collégiale St Pierre. Richelieu ordonnera que les fortifications soient démantelées.

La collégiale Saint Pierre, un des plus remarquables édifices religieux romans du Tarn a probablement pour origine une église de l’époque carolingienne mais dont l’existence n’est prouvée qu’au Xe siècle
Au début du XIIe siècle, l’église était sans doute un prieuré. Cet édifice roman sera terminé en 1140 …….
Face au portail nord de la Collégiale, se trouve le château, construit au XVIIème siècle sous Louis XIII.

 Tour de la Bistoure : C’était l’une des quatre ou cinq portes du village de Burlats fortifié au XIVe siècle. ……..

Pavillon d’Adélaïde C’est l’un des rares témoins de l’architecture civile romane, C’est un bâtiment du milieu du XIIe siècle, construit en moellons assises avec chaîne d’angle en pierres de taille .
Le bâtiment avait trois niveaux à l’origine. Le premier niveau était à l’origine entièrement aveugle. Le deuxième niveau avait de petites ouvertures qui devaient servir à la défense de la maison. Le troisième niveau devait être celui de l’habitat et était aveugle du côté est et nord d’où soufflent les vents les plus froids. Il comporte cinq baies, quatre au sud et une à l’ouest.
Sa restauration récente par le service des Monuments historiques a fait apparaître les trois arcades du rez-de-chaussée mettant mieux en évidence un premier étage peu ouvert. Elle n’a probablement jamais été habitée par la vicomtesse d’Albi. La qualité de cette maison vient des cinq grandes fenêtres du second étage qui éclairaient une pièce unique.

La maison d’ADAM .  Bâtisse romane de la même époque que le pavillon d’Adélaïde, la maison d’Adam devait être incluse avec la collégiale dans le périmètre de l’ancien prieuré.
Le chapiteau représentant Adam et Ève, qui avait donné son nom à la maison, a été vendu en 1935

(remerciements à l’OT de Burlats)

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous devez remplir ce champ
Vous devez remplir ce champ
Veuillez saisir une adresse de messagerie valide.

Menu