“The Castelviel is one of the oldest districts of Albi, judging by the discovery of weapons, tools or ornaments made in this place and attributable to the prehistoric, Celtic or Gallo periods. romaine “writes the historian Roger Allaire in” Albi through the centuries “, reference work. “The Castelviel received, around 1130, the name it still bears, but its antiquity dates back well beyond the twelfth century. During prehistory, it forms an oppidum that serves as a refuge for populations scattered in the Tarn valley; it becomes the cradle of the city of Albi. It is a neighborhood like no other, populated since ancient times, long before Albi became an opulent city. Because of its isolated location, on a steep promontory, the Castelviel hill has escaped urban changes, keeping this little something authentic that its inhabitants are so attached to.

It is regarded as the cradle of Albi. Its name reminds us that the tip of this promontory which protrudes like a bow between the escarpments of the valleys of Tarn and Bondidou offered a defensive site, conducive to the establishment of a fortified refuge: the castle of the counts of Toulouse, the all-powerful lords of Albi stood there from the beginning of the Middle Ages There still exists, currently, the “Place du Château” near the Place St Lou, at the exit of the “Bridge of the Republic” which spans the ravine of Bondidou and cross the bridge of the path of . After the crusade of the Albigensians, which leads to the effacement of the Trencavel, viscounts became the main lords of the city in the eleventh century, the Castelviel becomes possession of Montfort and forms a separate community with its consuls.

For a long time, this village in the city remained independent of the jurisdiction of Albi until the Revolution did not lead to its attachment.

This lasting isolation explains why Castelviel has retained the appearance of a former village. Its strong identity is due to the configuration of the parcellaire which is organized from a main axis, the rue du Castelviel from which narrow streets lead to small islands with extremely small plots, since a quarter of the houses have a surface area of soil between 18 and 30 m2.

One discovers its modest and picturesque houses, arranged in stages, with gardens in terraces … and plots of another time. All offer stunning views of the cathedral.

 

The ravine of Bondidou, currently landscaped parking, (parking of the Cathedral) has well preserved the original escarpment overlooked by the Castelviel and the cathedral. It allows to appreciate well the slope whose ramparts (demolished in the XVIIth century) limited the ravine.

We only have to follow the Rue du Castelviel, a sort of backbone of the district; a series of alleys and two more important streets lead to two small squares; Savene Square, full of charm and picturesque, evokes a village square, surrounded by small houses built in brick and timber.

 

The small place Saint-Loup, near the church of the same name, became private property in the Revolution, offers a beautiful view of the steeple of the cathedral. The same goes for rue du Castelviel, which opens onto the cathedral and offers a beautiful suite of half-timbered houses and corbels, including a house with mud walls.

On the other side of the Republic Bridge, the umbilical cord between the two districts, the Castelviel comes alive around the fair. Since the spring, the construction machines have invested the place of the castle and some streets of the hill of Castelviel. The bridge and requalification works are changing the neighborhood without losing its character.

 

It’s a lively neighborhood

While work continues to try as much as possible to limit nuisances, the hill of Castelviel comes alive throughout the summer: aperitif concert organized Savene place at the initiative of the association., Inauguration of the impasse Azémar whose name was the subject of a referendum within the district.

The idea is always to create social bonds, to get to know each other better between inhabitants, but also to make this neighborhood better known to the Albigensians and tourists.

During the “Place (s) aux artistes” festival in mid-July and mid-August, concerts are held in place Saint-Loup with the Conservatory of Music and Dance Tarn, and storytelling sessions take place every Thursday at 16:30 Place Savene.

In this historic district with narrow streets, restaurants and tea rooms and creperie are open all year. The Albigensians, especially locals, book with pleasure one of the tables of these warm places.

At the Castelviel fair, it is recognized that access to the area is more complicated by car with the closure of the bridge of the Republic but remains accessible, on foot or by bike, by the bridge parallel to the track under construction.

 

The bridge of the Republic

In 1879, the community of Castelviel has eight times less inhabitants than Albi and is twelve times less rich; she can not help being absorbed by her powerful neighbor.

In the nineteenth century, a road bridge “Bridge of the Republic”, raised under the Second Republic, docked at his party, but his calm is disturbed by the construction of a viaduct for the railway. It reveals remains of the Bronze Age, but it completes to erase the remains of the strong house evoking the great Gallo-Roman family Didier-Salvi, the Counts of Toulouse and the knights of the Middle Ages.
The topography and the happy restorations allowed the Castelviel to keep, despite everything, a morphology which it affirms today for the approval of all.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

Menu

«Le Castelviel est un des quartiers les plus anciens d’Albi, si l’on en juge par les découvertes d’armes, d’outils ou d’ornements faites en ce lieu et pouvant être attribuées aux époques préhistorique, celtique ou gallo-romaine» écrit l’historien Roger Allaire dans «Albi à travers les siècles», ouvrage de référence. «Le Castelviel a reçu, vers 1130, le nom qu’il porte encore, mais son ancienneté remonte bien au-delà du XIIe-siècle. Au cours de la préhistoire, il forme un oppidum qui sert de refuge aux populations dispersées dans la vallée du Tarn ; il devient ainsi le berceau de la ville d’Albi.  C’est un quartier pas comme les autres, peuplé dès l’antiquité, bien avant qu’Albi ne devienne une cité opulente. De par sa situation enclavée, sur un promontoire escarpé, la butte du Castelviel a échappé aux changements urbains, gardant ce petit quelque chose d’authentique auquel sont tant attachés ses habitants.

Il est regardé comme le berceau d’Albi. Son nom rappelle que la pointe de ce promontoire qui s’avance comme une proue entre les escarpements des vallées du Tarn et du Bondidou offrait un site défensif, propice à l’établissement d’un refuge fortifié : le château des comtes de Toulouse, les tout-puissants seigneurs d’Albi s’y dressait dès le début du Moyen Âge Il existe encore, actuellement, la « Place du Château » proche de la Place St Lou, à la sortie du « Pont de la République » qui enjambe le ravin du Bondidou et croise le pont du chemin de

Après la croisade des Albigeois, qui entraîne l’effacement des Trencavel, vicomtes devenus principaux seigneurs de la ville au XIle siècle, le Castelviel devient possession des Montfort et forme une communauté séparée avec ses consuls.

Pendant longtemps, ce village dans la ville resta indépendant de la juridiction d’Albi jusqu’à ce que la Révolution ne conduise à son rattachement.

Cet isolement durable explique que le Castelviel ait conservé l’apparence d’un village d’autrefois. Sa forte identité tient à la configuration du parcellaire qui s’organise à partir d’un axe principal, la rue du Castelviel d’où partent des rues étroites qui desservent des îlots aux parcelles extrêmement exiguës puisqu’un quart des maisons ont une surface au sol comprise entre 18 et 30 m2.

On découvre ses maisons modestes et pittoresques, disposées en étages, avec des jardins en terrasses…et des placettes d’une autre époque. Toutes offrent une vue imprenable sur la cathédrale.

 

Le ravin du Bondidou, actuellement aménagé en parking paysager, ( parking de la Cathédrale) a bien conservé l’escarpement originel surplombé par le Castelviel et la cathédrale. Il permet de bien apprécier la dénivellation dont les remparts ( démolis au XVIIème siècle) limitaient le  ravin.

On n’a plus qu’à suivre la rue du Castelviel, sorte d’épine dorsale du quartier ; s’en détachent une série de ruelles et deux rues plus importantes qui conduisent à deux placettes ; la place Savène, pleine de charme et de pittoresque, évoque une place de village, entourée de petites maisons construites en brique et colombages.

 

La petite place Saint-Loup,   près de l’église du même nom, devenue propriété privée à la Révolution, offre un séduisant point de vue sur le clocher de la cathédrale. Il en est de même de la rue du Castelviel qui s’ouvre sur la cathédrale et offre une belle suite de maisons à colombages et encorbellements, dont une maison aux murs de torchis.

De l’autre côté du pont de la République, cordon ombilical entre les deux quartiers, le Castelviel s’anime autour du foirail. Depuis le printemps, les engins de chantier ont investi la place du château et certaines rues de la butte du Castelviel. La passerelle et les travaux de requalification sont en train de changer le quartier, sans perdre son cachet.

 

C’est un quartier animé

Tandis que les travaux se poursuivent en essayant autant que possible de limiter les nuisances, la butte du Castelviel s’anime tout au long de l’été : apéro concert organisé place Savène à l’initiative de l’association., inauguration de l’impasse Azémar dont la dénomination a fait l’objet d’un référendum au sein du quartier.

L’idée est toujours de créer du lien social, de se connaître davantage entre habitants, mais aussi de mieux faire connaître ce quartier aux Albigeois et aux touristes.

Lors du festival « Place(s) aux artistes » mi- juillet puis mi- août, des concerts sont donnés place Saint-Loup avec le Conservatoire de musique et de danse du Tarn, et des séances de contes ont lieu tous les jeudis à 16h30 place Savène.

 

Dans ce quartier historique aux rues étroites, restaurants et salons de thé et crêperie sont ouverts toute l’année. Les Albigeois, notamment des habitants du quartier, réservent avec plaisir l’une des tables de ces lieux chaleureux.

Au foirail du Castelviel, on reconnaît que l’accès au quartier est plus compliqué en voiture avec la fermeture du pont de la République mais reste accessible, à pied ou à vélo, par la passerelle parallèle à la voie en construction.

 

 

Le pont de la République

En 1879, la communauté du Castelviel compte huit fois moins d’habitants que celle d’Albi et s’avère douze fois moins riche ; elle ne peut éviter d’être absorbée par sa puissante voisine.

Au XIXe-siècle, un pont routier «  pont de la République », élevé sous la Seconde République, l’arrime à son foirail, mais son calme est troublé par la construction d’un viaduc pour le chemin de fer. Elle révèle des restes de l’âge de bronze, mais elle achève d’effacer les vestiges de la maison forte évoquant la grande famille gallo-romaine des Didier-Salvi, les comtes de Toulouse et les chevaliers du Moyen Age.
La topographie et des restaurations heureuses ont permis au Castelviel de conserver, malgré tout, une morphologie qu’il affirme aujourd’hui pour l’agrément de tous.

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous devez remplir ce champ
Vous devez remplir ce champ
Veuillez saisir une adresse de messagerie valide.

Menu