Albi picturesque: the Castelnau

The interest of the city “to visit” is divided between different districts organized around the Cathedral Sainte Cécile and its place. This magnificent square was freed from the houses occupying it but their location is materialized in the tiling of the present place.

 

 

Le Castelnau

This district borders Place Sainte-Cécile, to the south. It developed in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, with the suburbs of Puech Bérenguier, Puech Amadenc and Verdusse.
It was born of a concerted urban planning following agreements between the Count of Toulouse, the Bishop of Albi and the Viscount Trencavel who shared the rights to develop a new borough on land still vacant.
The more regular layout of the streets reveals a more orderly urbanism, with righter and more spacious streets.

The Bourguetnau (or new town) also bears the appellation Castelnau as opposed to the Castelviel, the primitive site and oppidum, constituting the City in the middle of the Middle Ages.
The wealthiest Albigenses possessed beautiful aristocratic mansions at the end of the medieval period. Today, it is one of the districts of the old center which contains the best preserved and best restored buildings.
Le Castelnau preserves beautiful mansions and offers perspectives on the bell tower of the cathedral which stands out on the roofs.

You can admire the rue Sainte-Cécile bordered on the western side by beautiful wood-paneled facades with large corbellements and the Rue Saint-Clair, with the Hotel Séré de Rivières, its tower and its two elegant Renaissance doors; In the courtyard one can see the rearrangements and openings in the classical taste which triumphs in the 17th and 18th centuries and which envelops these Renaissance testimonies of a sumptuous, perfectly restored setting.
The hotel also has a large vaulted brick cellar.
There are many vaulted cellars in the Old Alby, one of the characteristics of the Albigensian houses; Today they are often furnished by restaurants, shops or art galleries.

 

On the platform overlooking the intersection of the streets of the Piale, Caminade and the Priests, there is a remarkable view of the southern façade of the cathedral with its porch and bell tower.

One of the six gates of the city, that of La Trebaille. Was located at the entrance of the boulevard Sibille which runs along the old ramparts One of the very beautiful houses of the old rampart belonged to the Toulouse-Lautrec family. The painter, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec was born there and lived there in his youth before the departure, towards the Gironde, of his mother, the Countess Adele. The building, whose interior is dilapidated, can not be visited.

Via the Rue Saint-Clair, we reach the triangle drawn by Rue Croix-Blanche, the Priests and Puech Bérenguier; A picturesque triangle favored by photographers, artists and painters, who discover here the half-timbered or brick houses and the seductive prospects on the cathedral.

 

 

The Rue de la Croix-Blanche offers a beautiful alignment of perfectly restored facades where the brick dominates. The n ° 9 shelters the “Forge of Old Alby” and preserves Renaissance elements. At the bottom of the street, the building of the “Castelnaou”, at 19, rue Croix-Blanche and No. 1 rue des Prêtres, brings together two hotels with Renaissance elements.

 

 

 

It is a perfect restoration of the Office des H.L.M. Which has developed a very pleasant residence in these two buildings, highlighting arcades, galleries, inner courtyards: one of the finest developments carried out in the preserved area.

The rue Puech Bérenguier (named after a medieval family) retains many corbelled, timber-framed and brick façades. It offers a good representation of the general appearance of the medieval streets of Albigensia. The facades have been restored, the street has been laid out with artistically arranged paving stones, framed by pebbles rolled on the edges, and lighting by the ground. You can visit “the House of Old Alby”

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

Menu

Albi pittoresque : le Castelnau 

L’intérêt de la ville « à visiter » se partage entre différents quartiers organisés autour de la Cathédrale Sainte Cécile et de sa place. Cette magnifique place a été libérée des maisons qui l’occupaient mais leur emplacement est matérialisé dans les pavages de la place actuelle.

Le Castelnau

Ce quartier borde la place Sainte-Cécile, au sud. Il s’est développé aux XIIe et XIIIe siècles, avec les faubourgs du Puech Bérenguier, du Puech Amadenc et de Verdusse.
Il est né d’un urbanisme concerté à la suite d’accords entre le comte de Toulouse, l’évêque d’Albi et le vicomte Trencavel qui se sont partagés les droits pour développer un nouveau bourg sur des terrains encore vacants.
Le tracé des rues, plus régulier, révèle un urbanisme plus ordonné, avec des rues plus droites et plus spacieuses.

Le Bourguetnau (ou bourg neuf) porte aussi l’appellation de Castelnau par opposition au Castelviel, le site primitif et oppidum, constituant la Cité au milieu du Moyen Âge.
Les Albigeois les plus fortunés y possédaient de belles demeures aristocratiques à la fin de l’époque médiévale. Aujourd’hui, c’est l’un des quartiers du centre ancien qui renferme les édifices les mieux conservés et les mieux restaurés.
Le Castelnau conserve de belles demeures et offre des perspectives sur le clocher de la cathédrale qui se détache sur les toitures.

On peut admirer la rue Sainte-Cécile bordée sur le côté ouest par de belles façades à pans de bois et à larges encorbellements et la rue Saint-Clair, avec l’Hôtel Séré de Rivières , sa tour et ses deux élégantes portes Renaissance ; dans la cour, on peut voir les remaniements et les ouvertures dans le goût classique qui triomphe aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles et qui enveloppe ces témoignages de la Renaissance d’un cadre somptueux, parfaitement restauré.
Cet hôtel possède aussi une vaste cave voûtée en brique .
Nombreuses sont ces caves voûtées dans le Vieil Alby, une des caractéristiques des maisons albigeoises ; aujourd’hui elles sont souvent aménagées par les restaurants, les commerces ou les galeries d’art.

 

 

 

Sur la plate-forme qui domine le croisement des rues de la Piale, Caminade et des Prêtres, s’offre un remarquable point de vue sur la façade méridionale de la cathédrale avec son porche et son clocher.

Une des six portes de la ville, celle de la Trébaille. se situait à l’entrée du boulevard Sibille qui longe les anciens remparts L’une des très belles maisons de l’ancien rempart appartenait à la famille Toulouse-Lautrec. Le peintre, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec y est né et y a vécu dans sa jeunesse avant le départ, vers la Gironde, de sa mère, la Comtesse Adèle . Le bâtiment, dont l’intérieur est vétuste, ne se visite pas.  

Par la rue Saint-Clair, on aboutit au triangle que dessinent les rues Croix-Blanche, des Prêtres et Puech Bérenguier ; triangle pittoresque qu’affectionnent les photographes, les artistes et les peintres, qui découvrent ici les demeures à pans de bois ou en brique et les perspectives séduisantes sur la cathédrale.

 

 

 

 

La rue de la Croix-Blanche offre un bel alignement de façades parfaitement restaurées où la brique domine. Le n° 9 abrite la “Forge du Vieil Alby” et conserve des éléments Renaissance. Au fond de la rue, l’immeuble du “Castelnaou”, au 19, rue Croix-Blanche et n° 1 rue des Prêtres, regroupe deux hôtels avec des éléments Renaissance .

 

 

 

 

C’est une parfaite restauration de l’Office des H.L.M. qui a aménagé dans ces deux édifices une résidence très agréable, en mettant en valeur arcades, galeries, cours intérieures : un des plus beaux aménagements effectués dans le secteur sauvegardé.

 La rue Puech Bérenguier (du nom d’une famille médiévale) conserve beaucoup de façades à encorbellements, à pans de bois et briques. Elle offre une bonne représentation de l’aspect général des rues médiévales albigeoises. Les façades ont été restaurées, la rue aménagée avec des pavés artistiquement disposés, encadrés de cailloux roulés sur les bords, et un éclairage par le sol. On peut y visiter « la Maison du Vieil Alby »

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous devez remplir ce champ
Vous devez remplir ce champ
Veuillez saisir une adresse de messagerie valide.

Menu