The Episcopal City of Albi has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since August 2010.
Built in response to the Cathar heresy, as a fortress symbolizing the power of the Catholic Church, the Cathedral of St. Cecilia is the largest brick cathedral in the world, 113 meters long and 35 meters wide.
The cathedral of Albi is characteristic of the southern Gothic with its unique nave of 100 meters long. The concern not to split the space goes so far as to integrate the pillars in the wall (they form a kind of internal buttresses)
It dominates the city with its bell tower of 78 meters finished in 1492 shortly after the consecration, in 1480, of the choir.
The mural painting of the Last Judgment, recognized as the greatest in the world, produced between 1474 and 1484, offers a representation of the end of times that we probably owe to Flemish artists.
In 1509, Italian painters covered the vault of the cathedral with frescoes making up the largest collection of Renaissance paintings made in France.
The Sainte-Cécile cathedral is a lively place where hundreds of thousands of people of all origins and confessions come to admire the architecture and decoration each year and are silent in this meaningful space.
(Thanks to Mairie d’Albi)

NEF UNIQUE AND COUNTERFORMS

The architecture of Sainte-Cécile is organized from a single nave. No flying buttresses thus a stripping that contrasts with the cathedrals of the North

The wall rises in a single stream, the vaults of the chapels lodged between the buttresses being carried to the root of those of the nave. The rounded buttresses, originality unique to Albi and which makes it unique, comes to rhythm the nudity of the wall surfaces and to remove any dryness. The vertical wall, framed by half-cylinders that refine upwards, thus perfectly makes the momentum and “tension” of the Gothic. The sun generates the shadows that animate the whole and come to affirm its massive power.

Nevertheless, the continuity of space, which dominated the original project, was broken at the end of the 15th century by the addition of the rood screen, which introduces a form of quota of the interior volume. This prejudice to the unity of the whole is compensated by the beauty of the rood screen, one of the most beautiful in France. The jube is in flamboyant Gothic style. Only a few statues escaped the destruction of 1794: Adam and Eve (polychrome stone) as well as Mary and Saint John (wood).

The choir, which ends with a seven-sided roundabout, is surrounded by an ambulatory punctuated with 33 statues. They are characters from the Old Testament, including two women Esther and Judith. Judith, in particular, possesses splendid clothes

Inside are the statues of the 12 apostles, the Virgin, Saint John the Baptist, Saint Paul and Saint Cecilia. The choir contains 120 stalls.

The walls and the quadripartite vaults are entirely painted. In 1509, Italian painters were employed for the interior decoration (these paintings, still splendid, have never been restored). The blue and gold tones dominate. They relate the life of Saint Cecilia and the biblical episodes: the pedagogical elements for the faithful, which are generally found outside the cathedrals, are here inside.

The centerpiece of these frescoes is the Last Judgment (18 x 15 meters). At the time, the back wall was not pierced by a door. At the site of the present gate was doubtless a Christ in majesty, accompanied by the Virgin and St. John. St Michael, beneath him, judged the souls. On the right of the site where Christ was to be found, we can see Saint Louis, Charlemagne and the apostles.

At the bottom of the fresco, there is hell and a representation of the seven deadly sins: the proud is subjected to the torture of the wheel, the envious is soaked successively in icy water and then in a lake of fire, Le colereux Is devoured by the devil, the miser is immersed in vats of molten metal, the greedy is fattened at the funnel, the luxurious sees his sex devoured by a toad. Only the laziness, which was to be found beneath Christ in majesty, lay on the site of the present gate.

The classical organ, the largest in France, was made in the 18th century by the organ builder Christophe Moucherel.

(Thanks to http://architecture.relig.free.fr/albi)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

Menu

La Cité Episcopale d’Albi est Inscrite au patrimoine de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO, depuis août 2010.
Construite en réponse à l’hérésie cathare, comme une forteresse symbolisant la puissance de l’Église catholique la cathédrale Sainte-Cécile  est la plus grande cathédrale de briques au monde, longue de 113 mètres et large de 35 mètres.
La cathédrale d’Albi est caractéristique du gothique méridional avec sa nef unique de 100 mètres de long. Le souci de pas scinder l’espace va jusqu’à intégrer les piliers dans la paroi (ils forment une sorte de contreforts intérieurs)
Elle domine la ville avec son clocher de 78 mètres terminé en 1492 peu après la consécration, en 1480, du chœur.
La peinture murale du Jugement dernier, reconnu comme le plus grand du monde, réalisée entre 1474 et 1484, offre une représentation de la fin des temps que l’on doit probablement à des artistes flamands.
En 1509, des peintres italiens recouvrent la voûte de la cathédrale avec des fresques composant le plus vaste ensemble de peintures Renaissance réalisé en France.
La cathédrale Sainte-Cécile est ce lieu vivant où, chaque année, des centaines de milliers de personnes de toutes origines et confessions viennent admirer l’architecture et la décoration et font silence dans cet espace porteur de sens.
( Merci à Mairie d’Albi)

NEF UNIQUE ET CONTREFORTS

L’architecture de Sainte-Cécile s’organise à partir d’une nef unique. Pas d’arcs-boutants donc un dépouillement qui contraste avec les cathédrales du Nord

Le mur s’élève d’un seul jet, les voûtes des chapelles logées entre les contreforts étant portées à la racine de celles de la nef. L’arrondi des contreforts, originalité propre à Albi et qui la rend unique, vient rythmer la nudité des surfaces murales et leur enlever toute sécheresse. La paroi verticale, encadrée par des demi-cylindres qui s’affinent vers le haut, rend ainsi parfaitement l’élan et « la tension » du gothique. Le soleil engendre des ombres portées qui animent l’ensemble et viennent affirmer sa puissance massive.

     Néanmoins, la continuité de l’espace, qui dominait le projet initial, a été rompue à la fin du XVe siècle par l’ajout du jubé, qui introduit une forme de contingentement du volume intérieur. Ce préjudice fait à l’unité de l’ensemble est cependant compensé par la beauté même du jubé, l’un des plus beaux de France. Le jubé est de style gothique flamboyant. Seules quelques statues ont échappé aux destructions de 1794 : Adam et Eve (pierre polychrome) ainsi que Marie et Saint Jean (bois).

    Le chœur, qui s’achève par un rond-point à sept pans, est entouré d’un déambulatoire ponctué de 33 statues. Il s’agit de personnages de l’Ancien Testament, parmi lesquels deux femmes Esther et Judith. Judith, notamment, possède de splendides vêtements.

    A l’intérieur, on trouve les statues des 12 apôtres, de la Vierge, de Saint Jean-Baptiste, de Saint Paul et de Sainte Cécile. Le chœur comprend 120 stalles.

Les murs et les voûtes quadripartites sont entièrement peints. En 1509, on fait appel à des peintres italiens pour la décoration intérieure (ces peintures, encore splendides, n’ont jamais été restaurées).  Les tons bleus et or dominent. Elles relatent la vie de Sainte Cécile et des épisodes bibliques : les éléments pédagogiques destinés aux fidèles, que l’on trouve généralement à l’extérieur des cathédrales, sont donc ici à l’intérieur.

 La pièce maîtresse de ces fresques est le Jugement dernier (18 x 15 mètres). A l’époque, le mur de fond n’était pas percé d’une porte. A l’emplacement de la porte actuelle se trouvait sans doute un Christ en majesté, accompagné de la Vierge et de St Jean. St Michel, en dessous de lui, jugeait les âmes. A droite de l’emplacement où devait se trouver le Christ, on distingue Saint Louis, Charlemagne et les apôtres.

 En bas de la fresque, on trouve l’enfer et une représentation des sept péchés capitaux : l’orgueilleux est soumis au supplice de la roue, l’envieux est trempé successivement dans l’eau glacé puis dans un lac de feu, Le coléreux est étripé par démon, l’avare est plongé dans des cuves de métal fondu, le gourmand est engraissé à l’entonnoir, le luxurieux voit son sexe dévoré par un crapaud. Seule manque la paresse, qui devait se trouver en dessous du Christ en majesté, à l’emplacement de l’actuelle porte.

L’orgue classique, le plus grand de France, a été réalisé au XVIIIe siècle par le facteur d’orgue Christophe Moucherel.

(Merci à http://architecture.relig.free.fr/albi)

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous devez remplir ce champ
Vous devez remplir ce champ
Veuillez saisir une adresse de messagerie valide.

Menu