Beautiful experiences … beautiful holidays
De belles expériences…de belles vacances

We offer you personal experiences: they will allow you to discover our region and our city in all their diversity.

The activities are numerous in Albi its surroundings:
On foot or by bike the GR36 and Tarn by bike. By car one-day tours concocted for you. In the air: paragliding and hang-gliding for athletes and brave, ballooning for the curious and stargazing in a planetarium. In the water: canoeing on 3 rivers: Viaur, Aveyron and Tarn. Reservations on request. Underground: Mining Museum and its coal mining galleries presented by the Amicale des Anciens Mineurs which will make you live the atmosphere of the mine “as if you were there”

For the children: We propose you the visit of 2 feudal castles with medieval war machines and combats of valiant warriors. Farms with miniature animals that children can approach, mine galleries “as if we were there” with the descent of minors, a skate park equipped with a skate and BMX track, the little tourist train of yesteryear , walks in barges with possibility of picnic, and the visit of the bells of Notre Dame de la Drèche on Sunday (facing the carillonneur who hits his keyboard) with an ear protection.

The vineyard: At the gates of Albi, the millennial vineyard of Gaillac is restored, in the Middle Ages, by the monks of the Abbey St Michel. It is the region of “Gaillac AOC” and “Côtes du Tarn” in PGI. In addition to reds, whites and rosés, the specialty is the “Gaillac pearl” to be consumed (with moderation) as an aperitif.
I will show you two winemakers of my friends: both in biological or reasoned culture. The vineyard of one, in plain, on lands of serious marl, the vineyard of the other, in coasts, has a stony ground clay-limestone, and a Cooperative Cellar where is proposed the complete visit of the chaix and the explanation of the grape vinification process.

Around Albi, many productions of local specialties: foie gras and duck confit, crisp strings, regional beers and sometimes “confidential” and a Tarnais whiskey

But Albi, it is especially: the Episcopal City inscribed with the patrimony of the Humanity by the UNESCO, the Cathedral Ste Cécile, the old districts of Castelnau and Castelviel, the Palace of Berbie recently restored, its French garden , exceptional, and the Museum Toulouse-Lautrec it hosts, the museum Laperouse, the Museum of Fashion, the Museum of Miniatures, the flea markets on Saturday morning, painting galleries, farmers markets of different places Albigensian, free concerts at the Cathedral or the Collegiate Church of St Salvi, the Garden Rochegude, its arboretum and … its duck, the green escape, pedestrian path that crosses Albi along the Caussels, the chimes of Our Lady of the Drèche, the Old Bridge ……. And I probably forget about it.

Menu

De belles expériences…de belles vacances

Nous vous proposons des expériences personnelles : elles vous permettront de découvrir notre région et notre ville dans toute leur diversité.

Les activités sont nombreuses dans Albi ses environs :
A pied ou à vélo
le GR36 et Tarn à vélo.  En voiture des circuits d’une journée concoctés pour vous. Dans les airs : parapente et delta plane pour les sportifs et courageux, montgolfière pour les curieux et observation des étoiles dans un planétarium. Dans l’eau : canoë-kayak sur 3 rivières : le Viaur, l’Aveyron et le Tarn. Réservations à la demande. Sous terre : Musée de la Mine et ses galeries d’extraction du charbon présentées par l’Amicale des Anciens Mineurs qui vous feront vivre l’ambiance de la mine « comme si vous y étiez »

Pour les enfants : Nous vous proposons la visite de 2 châteaux féodaux avec engins de guerre moyenâgeux et combats de valeureux guerriers. Des fermes avec animaux miniatures que les enfants pourront approcher, des galeries de mine « comme si on y était » avec la descente des mineurs, un skate-park équipé d’une piste de skate et de B.M.X., le petit train touristique d’autrefois, des promenades en gabarres avec possibilité de pique-nique, et la visite des cloches de Notre Dame de la Drèche le dimanche (face au carillonneur qui frappe son clavier) avec une protection d’oreilles

Le vignoble : Aux portes d’Albi, le vignoble millénaire de Gaillac est remis en état, au Moyen-Age, par les moines de l’Abbatiale St Michel.  C’est la région du « Gaillac AOC » et des « Côtes du Tarn » en IGP . Outre les rouges, les blancs et les rosés, la spécialité est le « Gaillac perlé » à consommer (avec modération) en apéritif.
Je vous indiquerai deux vignerons de mes amis : tous deux en culture biologique ou raisonnée. Le vignoble de l’un, en plaine, sur des terres de graves marneuses, le vignoble de l’autre, en côtes, a un sol caillouteux argilo-calcaire, et une Cave Coopérative où est proposée la visite complète des chaix et l’explication du processus de vinification du raisin.

Autour d’Albi, de nombreuses productions de spécialités locales : foie gras et confits de canard, croquants de Cordes, bières régionales et quelquefois « confidentielles » ainsi qu’un whisky tarnais

Mais Albi, c’est surtout : la Cité Episcopale inscrite au patrimoine de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO, la Cathédrale Ste Cécile, les quartiers anciens du Castelnau et du Castelviel, le Palais de la Berbie récemment restauré, son jardin à la française, exceptionnel, et le Musée Toulouse-Lautrec qu’il héberge, le musée Lapérouse, le Musée de la Mode, le Musée des Miniatures, les brocantes du samedi-matin, les galeries de peinture, les marchés paysans des différentes places albigeoises, les concerts gratuits à la Cathédrale ou à la Collégiale St Salvi,  le Jardin Rochegude, son arborétum et … ses canard, l’échappée verte, chemin pédestre qui traverse Albi en longeant le Caussels,  les carillons de Notre Dame de la Drèche, le Pont Vieux …….  Et j’en oublie probablement.

 

Menu